Captgerry

tire suggestions for F250

11 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I have a 2011 Ford F250 Superduty supercab with 8ft bed. Pretty heavy truck. I'm in need of new tires and I'm looking for suggestions for new tires from you more experienced OSV drivers. The tires on the truck are the original from the factory and they are "General Grabber HTS" LT245/75/R17 (121/118) 80 PSI. I plan on driving on the beach maybe 5-10 times per year (maybe more when I move to the outer banks next year so I also need a tire that is just as good for driving the road. I've gotten stuck twice already on the beach and don't know if a larger wider tire would be better or maybe its just the fact that my treads are almost gone and I'm still new to driving on the sand but any suggestions on new tires for my truck are much appreciated.

Please email me if you like or respond to this post.

Capt. Gerry McDonald

"To Dive For" SCUBA Charters

glm.mcdonald@gmail.com

Hey Capt., I would suggest any all terrain tire of your preference. their are so many to choose from and their all good. I have Nitto Mud Grapplers on my F-350 and I feel they are to aggressive, they seem to wanna dig in rather then float. I'm getting the Nitto Terra Grappler next round. Also with your F-250 try using Manual and 2nd gear and I think you'll find your truck will do much better on the beach.

Hope this helps you out, Rich

I have a 2003 F250 and run 285X75's on it. I air down to 20 on the beach and have no issues getting around. I have never been stuck....had a l ittle rouble once, but when I dropped the air down to 18, she walked right out. The 285's are taller and will balloon out more when you air down. The tires are Good Year Wranglers AT's. The Tread is not aggressive. They may not be the best tires for this truck, but I got over 80K out of the first set of these tires and have been using them since.

Thanks for your reply. You got 80k miles out of those tires, that's amazing.