Captgerry

Assateague Iland surf fishing in Mid March?

14 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I just joined this forum so I'd like to say hi first, and I have a question for you all. I've been offshore fishing and spearfishing my whole life but I'm new to surf fishing. I just bought a truck and plan to hit the beach as often as I can and learn the ropes. I'll probably have plenty of questions later about actually learning to drive on the beach but right now I was wondering if there were any fish to be caught in the surf (maybe stripers) in mid March or is that still too early? I want to get started and plan to be in the AI area the weekend of the 15th.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Capt. Gerry McDonald

"To Dive For" SCUBA Charters.

Welcome aboard!

Mid-March is a little early for stripers, but not unheard of. You could always get your "feet wet" and your bearings by breaking in your truck and new gear. There is a lot to learn about surf fishing. Let us know if you have any specific questions. Lots of great people on this site and they are very helpful.

It maybe alittle early but Im going to start hitting the Island in mid march. I just got a feeling:icon_scratch:

Your best bet would be the mid to end of April , but as Sam has suggested it would be a great time to get out and try to get all the kinks worked out of your gear and such.

Thanks for getting back to me everyone. Weather permitting I'll probably go ahead and give it a shot. At worst it won't be the first time I made a bunch of casts and came back with nothing but bait. I'll have all the necessities in the truck required to drive on the beach of course but I've seen a few discussions on tire pressure, 4WH or 4WL. What do you guys reccomend. 15 PSI? 20 PSI? does it depend on the truck (should I try 20 first then let out more if necessary?) And should I use 4 wheel high unless i got stuck??? and drive in the hard above the water line where possible???

Thanks in advance

Capt. Gerry