11 posts in this topic

Okay gents... help this lady out :o)

I love to fish, and would love to do so via kayak.

I've been looking online for a good used kayak, but not sure what I should even be looking for. I've read some great posts about kayaking out for shark fishing, which I'd like to try at some point.

Any suggestions on gear, yaks, or anything else would be greatly appreciated!

Happy Fish'n

Im no pro at kayak fishing by any means, but i have a little experience with kayaking for sharks. First, you will probably want a sit-on-top kayak for paddling out past the breakers, because you can easily just cut through the swells and let them wash over you. Also, I highly recommend taking your kayak out on the ocean WITHOUT any bait or lines attached, just to get the hang of it on the ocean.

Hope this helps, and above all, GOOD LUCK!

Im no pro at kayak fishing by any means, but i have a little experience with kayaking for sharks. First, you will probably want a sit-on-top kayak for paddling out past the breakers, because you can easily just cut through the swells and let them wash over you. Also, I highly recommend taking your kayak out on the ocean WITHOUT any bait or lines attached, just to get the hang of it on the ocean.

Hope this helps, and above all, GOOD LUCK!

mdhager

Do you think it's worth the extra money to get a fishing specific kayak, or will any sit-on-top do?

and thanks for the advice :o)

In terms of fishing, I only use my mine for deploying bait for sharks. I use it to explore around, but never really fish FROM it. If you are doing more than just deploying bait, I would probably invest in one at some point, because they are very nice and can be equipped with all types of gear, electronics, etc. Of course they are very expensive, but everyone needs to buy something for themselves.:eusa_dance: