12 posts in this topic

I'm thinking about picking up some new gear, considering i've been using all my dad's old 60's surf gear and it's starting to fall apart(string holding the guides is falling off). just wondering what everyone is using. i'm a spinning reel man, but i know i've read about you guys casting conventionals, which i've never done before. can you really get a conventional out there that far, as far as a spinner, without using a board or a kayak? if you could recommend me a nice budget friendly set up(spinning or conventional) i would appreciate it, thanks

I use spinning gear and in my opinion, a conventional will cast farther because the line is coming straight off the spool instead of looping and flopping against the first guide, as it does with a spinner.

Some of the connie folks will give recommendations. If you look in the Gear section, you will find some info that you seek.

If you are fishing only a few times a year I would get an okuma avenger (spinning reel) on a 10ft tica which can run $150-$200 or on a 10ft ugly stik which can run $100-$150...if you are fishing the surf alot I would go with one of the higher end daiwa rods, St. Croix, Lamiglas, or even Ticas. Reel wise spinning reels that are very dependable and a lower cost are the daiwa black and gold series. Conventional wise I use daiwa saltists yet I have heard many good things about penn mag 525. You can get more distance out of a conventional once you get used to it but for some it takes longer to get used too.

One thing I have found out over the years: You get what you pay for(Most of the time). I dont skimp on reels any more. Cheap reels tend to backlash and birdsnest quicker. I don't spend $500 bucks on one,but I will spend a little less on the rod B4 i go cheap on the reel.

Just my 2 cents