17 posts in this topic

New moon! High tides around dusk! I have been looking foward to this weekend for a long time! I hope the winds don't blow too hard. I will be out on Friday afternoon/night, Saturday morning/night, Sunday night!

Something good is going to happen! :)

might want to consider wire leaders. :-)

Same here, Im ready 8) I think Barb has already packed the Escape :lol:

hey Phil, watcha' driving on the beach:?:

tic, tic, tic :mrgreen:

Question for you guys;

I fished this past weekend and cought a load of skate, shark and a ray.(thought the ray was a big one when it hit). Hillbilly Grand Slam???

I couldn't find a break in the outer bar, so I just fished where it looked a little deeper. Should I try to cast over the bar, or stay inside the bar? Is AI mostly void of structure? Is it generally better the farther south? I never went farther than 6 miles from the ORV ramp. I'm new to AI fishing and could use some advice. Should I concentrate on just fishing the high tides?

Thanx

Jake, there is structure throughout the island, it just changes often, especially after a big blow,,,the further south, you get into the flatlands but there is still structure towards the line,,,often times it is hard to find structure when there is little wave action,,,always look for cuts first then holes,,,cuts or turbulent water IMO are the ideal areas to fish.

So distance is not as important as structure? If I can't find a break in the bar, I should shorten my cast and fish the deeper water close to the beach? I read somewhere that the record striper was cought 50 yards from the beach.

I remember fishing OBX a few years ago and casting as far as i could every time. Turns out My bait was in only 2-3 feet of water most of the time. I decided to walk out on the bar at low tide and the bar was only several inches at best.

Thanx for all the help.

Randy,