10 posts in this topic

hi everyone my name is mike and as the title says im new to surf fishing and really appreciate all the great info here on the site

my family just got a beach house in OC MD at the 139th st side of town so i am going down august 7th for the weekend and to give the surf a first try and maybe while there pick up a vehicle permit for DE so i can venture that way too

i have some smaller junk rods that i am setting out for smaller fish and i just picked up an Ocean Master 12' rod with a Daiwa emcast plus 5500 reel with 30lb test. i bought some hi/low rigs and 6oz weights along with some #2 bottom fishing hooks and some #2 kingfish rigs... so nothing for nothing im at least going to go drown some bait. i also have a head lamp and some sand spikes so along with a cooler and chair i think im getting there

so if anyone has any helpful words of advice or could let me know what to expect i would greatly appreciate it

thanks and thanks for a great forum i hope to learn a lot

mike

One important thing I overlooked my first time out was to sharpen my "bait knife" before heading out. Turned my bunker into ragged mush... at least the fish were well fed!

BUGSPRAY!

nice ill remember that for sure they eat me up as it is and i could see how that could turn a trip south in no time

thanks

it seems that there will be sharks in them there waters and i am excited about that possibility, i am so new to this that i will be heaving (my best attempt anyways) my bait out as i dont know too much about the yaking yet so aside from all the great posts about sharkin there have been recently do you have any words of wisdom on that front or any gear recomendations?

You'll need 8 oz and 10 oz pyramid weights, that current can really rip.

For the shark, you'll need some heavy leader with a fishfinder rig, then 200 lb wire ending at at least a 15/0 Circle hook.

Make sure you use Circle hooks so the sharks don't get gut hooked!