11 posts in this topic

I have been getting together some of my shark fishing gear for my oc vacation in early august and wanted to know if my rig will be good enough....

First, I am going to have a 16/0-20/0 circle hook, attached to at least 20" of heavy wire leader( its a 1/16" diameter leader), attached to at least 8' of .90 diameter string trimmer line(trying to save some money), then attached to at least 300 yrds of braided 50lb test. And I will have an 8 oz pyramid weight on a sinker slide on the string trimmer line. My bait is going to be bunker or bunker heads or anything big enough I catch out of the surf.

Please comment/criticize anything on my rig. Dont worry about being to harsh. I hope im not asking too many questions, but im new to this and the sooner I learn it, the sooner I will start answering other peoples questions.....THANKS!

you can shorten your wire leader to around 5" or so. The weedeater line sounds good, I would put the sinker slide onto the weedeater line and not your running line.

As for the braid, I wouldn't use it, but that's a personal preference. I just don't trust it in the surf because it doesn't have a abrasion resistance of mono. I do use braid on my reels as backing to get some added capacity. Lots of people here do use all braid without problems, I think most bump it up to 65 or even 80 or 100lb though.

8oz of weight may work for you, but if you plan to kayak out bait your probably going to need more than 8oz. I like to make big concrete weights and attach it to my slide with light mono line or a rubber band so that it breaks when you get a big shark on. I usually shoot for at least 2lb of weight.