6 posts in this topic

Hey guys, whats up?? Im new to the whole saltwater fishing scene, so ill defiantly need some help along the way. This past weekend, I went fishing off of the pier at surfside with some buds. Now ive been on a pier and seen folks pulling in fish before, and none of them were worth buying one of those expensive rigs to do so. So I took my ol ugly stick crappie rod. It did fine pulling in some small blues, and other things witch I have no clue of what they were. Until my brother in-law hooked a 6-7 foot shark, WOW that baby took off like nobodies business. Of course the line broke, and later someone told us that it was highly illegal to catch sharks on a pier there. But from what I hear that you can go to the next county and catch sharks at night off of the surf. I will be heading back to garden city Friday with hopes of landing a nice little shark. Another person told me that you can’t keep them, I need to find out. Also the week after next I will be heading to the isle of palms, I plan to do some surf fishing there as well. Any advice would be much appreciated. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

<o:p> </o:p>

A little background about my self, I live on a small pond that is a few miles long in the upstate of <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" /><st1:State w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">South Carolina</st1:place></st1:State>. I love to fish when ever I get the chance. So I hope yall don’t mind a member that is not always fishing in the ocean on your forum. I can always give a have decent update on the local rivers, ponds and lakes. <o:p></o:p>

Horry county prohibits *targetting* sharks in all waters.

This is an archaic law that is inspired by the Jaws movies. They don't want the tourons to see people pulling in sharks on their beaches in fear it will hurt tourism.

Here is the ordinance. Implemented in 1985 and updated after opposition in 2007