4 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I been reading this forum for sometime and find some very useful tips about fishing. I am a noob, so please excuse my ignorant questions. My friends and I are going to camping in Assateague on July 31 to the Aug 2nd. Will there be any tautog in the bulkhead? I also notice a little fishing area below the bridge crossing Assateague, is that a good place for fishing at night? and what I would expect to catch with what bait from there? I appreciate all the help from you experienced fisherman.

Thanks!

I have been fishing those waters for a few years now with my boat The Pepirmint Patty. The tautog should be there still. If you are talking about the rock jetties in the <ACRONYM title="Ocean City"><ACRONYM title="Ocean City">OC</ACRONYM></ACRONYM> inlet. As we all know green crabs are good bait for them. I found a heavier action rod works better because you get a quicker hook set. I use a 2 oz sinker and a 2/0 Gamakatsu J hook. Only use enough crab to cover hook. If it is too large they will just suck it off. Another GREAT bait is the Japenese Box crabs. These I do not think you can buy. Go on the rocks at night with a flash light. You will see these real tiny crabs. Use these whole and you will do well. I found this was the bait that won the tog categorie in several tournaments I was in.

As far as the bridge... I get slamed with skate a lot there. Although the last time I was there there were monster Blues. If you are going after them use a BLACK steel leader. The bait: fresh bunker works good, but can't go wrong with squid too. Let it float with no weight. I found that works good. Try to mix it up though if one style is not working for you. I did not have any luck with the flounder ot striper there, but I heard other did real well. I heard reports last year of 30+ in striper taken at night using storm lures.