18 posts in this topic

Hello All,

I purchased a BPS OM 12' conventional before the season and have used it a few times. I am new to conventionals and this is my first. I wanted to purchase the OM Cape Point as i have heard good things. I know they dont make them anymore in conventional but i could not find one anywhere. Does anyone know what the differences are between the two? I have heard practically nothing about the Regaular OM 12' conventional. Anyone had any long term experience with them?

I am looking into buying another conventional setup and was wondering if i should continue to look for a Cape Point or if there is something better or similar on the market in the same price range. I am not ready to spend the coin on a custom as i am still new to conventional. I throw mainly 8 n bait.

Any assitance would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for the long post :redface: Thanks again.

I do not have any personal experience in the drink with the CP. I did check it out at BPS and thought it looked cheap and fragile.

I heard one person complained about the reel attachment point.

They may have upgraded the point since I last looked, that was when it first came out.

Personally, I don't see the need for a quick release for a reel.

The reel seat on the cape point is abysmal in my opinion. A lot of people that I know cut off the reel seat and put a regular seat on it.

If you are looking for a step up from the regular ocean master, you can take a peek at the HDX and LDX breakaway rods.

If you want to get adventurous you can try making your own custom surf rod from a blank. Its not that hard and with a little research you will be fine. Trust me, if I can do it, anyone can do it.

No they don't make the conventional CP anymore

I own an original 6-12 12' OM conventional it does have a bit of a stiff tip for detecting a bite. It's the same blank from each other but where the reel seat is at it makes the rod tip and sinker load a big difference.