8 posts in this topic

I am new to the fourm as well as inlet fishing. I am a surf fishing type of guy. What do you guys suggest I run at IRI for stripers or drum just bought a new spinnin rod. Suggest I fish the tides as well and stick with the surf the other times. Any other suggestions for night surf fishing? Are their any requiriements or is it illegal to night fish on the drive on beach? I am assuming their are no restrictions on what time you can enter or exit the drive on beach?

IRI is not much of a live bait spot for Stripers...unless your throwing eels or drifting bait from a boat or kayak.

As a rule of thumb...outgoing tide fish the SouthEast point...incoming tide Northeast of Northwest. Swim plugs like Storm lures work well...and Jigs tipped with white color grub with an inline weight work well as well. Lot of hang-ups..Its hit or miss...but watch other fisherman, put your time in, and you'll get 'em.

Stay off the bottom, lots of rigs lost in the rocks. Try using a surface popper and make a lot of noise with it. A mid column rattler would work too.

#1 get some cleats/spikes to walk on the rocks. When wet it's dangerous.

Swim Shads have gotten me the most Stripers (schoolies) in my limited time at IRI. I'm gonna try some of those new gulp eels and see if they like them this year. Most of the keeper fish I've seen caught, (still waiting for my first keeper size) were on top water plugs near the end of the inlet. Keep some hard metal gotcha' or spoons for when the blues show up. Have seen & caught a few smaller fish caught on sand fleas floated along the rocks also. Learned that trick by watching others, Like trimlc said.

A gaff is needed in case you do get a biggie!

Good Luck & Be Safe

I forgot to mention...

Please consider wearing a PFD out on the jetties.

People haven't gone home because they weren't wearing one.

The last jetty victim I know of locally got conked in the head with his lead weight and fell in.