Sam

Assateague Island OSV STATUS

12 posts in this topic

I'm confused......the East wind has closed part of the island but in your signature you "Pray for East wind"? I'm a rookie (sort of) when it comes to fishing AI, so can you please explain this East wind theory and why it is good? Seems if you want to get South to the fence (which we all do this time of year), we should be hoping that part of the Island remains open and the wind is offshore no?

:dontknow::help::help::dontknow:

I'm confused......the East wind has closed part of the island but in your signature you "Pray for East wind"? I'm a rookie (sort of) when it comes to fishing AI, so can you please explain this East wind theory and why it is good? Seems if you want to get South to the fence (which we all do this time of year), we should be hoping that part of the Island remains open and the wind is offshore no?

:dontknow::help::help::dontknow:

East wind bring fish close into the shore line (thats the theory anyway). The East wind also keeps the bugs at bay.

It is very rare for the park service to close the OSV zone, so don't think that east wind means closed OSV.

East wind bring fish close into the shore line (thats the theory anyway). The East wind also keeps the bugs at bay.

It is very rare for the park service to close the OSV zone, so don't think that east wind means closed OSV.

Sweet, looks like a prolonged Eastery next week before turning Northeast. Sounds like a winner to me.

Anything I need to be particularly wary of during a prolonged East blow? Luckily it's inbetween moon phases.

Tight lines.

Steve

Sweet, looks like a prolonged Eastery next week before turning Northeast. Sounds like a winner to me.

Anything I need to be particularly wary of during a prolonged East blow? Luckily it's inbetween moon phases.

Tight lines.

Steve

Just watch the high tide and you'll be fine. Worst case is you will have to stay a bit longer than you wanted!