10 posts in this topic

I'm in the initial planning stages of a mid-winter migration to the central Florida coast. Looking at the Manatee Hammock Campground near Titusville for around 10 days. The family is wanting to check out the Cape Canaveral space scene, while my interests are in the SURF!!

What can I expect to be catching that time of year? Heard a lot about Playalinda Beach being really popular with the surf fishers. Any other areas I need to investigate?

I'm still a rookie when it come to the surf, but after two 10 day trips to Assateague this summer... I'M HOOKED!!! Any areas in Florida where you can drive on the beach like Assateague?

Thanks in advance...

Bill

a.k.a.- The Greenhorn

Well, you won't find any space stuff at Canaveral, hehehehe...

That's the shipping/cruise port. Cape Kennedy is the space stuff.

Take the tour out to the launch pads, it's pretty cool and you'll prolly see a shuttle up close.

Other places include just below Cocoa Beach and 40 minutes further south to Sebastian Inlet. The inlet is a very cool place, especially at sunrise. You can fish the north or south jetties, along the rocks and under the bridge on the catwalk. The south jetty to the ocean has a deep hole that holds Nurse Sharks. Don't swim in that hole! Anyplace else is fine to swim. You'll see that the surfers avoid the area even though it has nice waves.

Take a throw net and get live bait from the shallows in the NW pool. You can get Mullet (bait) anywhere along the river too, look for ripples and swirls on the surface. Be cautious around the actual inlet, the current can really get ripping, don't swim in it. Too much boat traffic anyway....

Fish like you would anywhere else on the coast, same rigs and hooks. Put out some light stuff for Whiting, little pieces of fish or squid on a #4 hook, NOT a 4/0. Ask how to make a Snook rig (or buy a couple/few) and play them gently.