8 posts in this topic

I have a 20 foot boat and I want to catch Dolphin and Stripers. I need advice on where and how to catch these fish.

Welcome aboard eded60,,,I am by no means an expert when it comes to offshore fishing, but for dolphin, we use to look for any kind of cover, like floats for pots, floating pieces of wood, any kind of cover,,,we would toss some bait scraps by the pot,,,if they are there, you will see them come up,,,generally you have to go around the jackspot area and further out,,,dolphin like the warmer water,,,Iam sure Randy can point you in the right direction.

well the stripers can be caught near the inlet. along the beach and RT50 bridge, drifting live bait and lures, fish the tides(very importon) but personally I have not had any great success wth them inshore.

now a 20' boat is iffy going offshore if you have no experience in running offshore. Dolphin (also called Mahi-Mahi locally) and other Pelagic species are caught much farther offshore and require different tackle and techniches. if you've never ventured off-shore before, I'd suggest going on a charter boat first (OC is full of top-notch boats and captians) first, you'll have to-go 20 to 30 miles off shore or more. water temp is very importon and Dolphin usally hang around weed lines and other floating debris. you can troll for them around these weed lines and debris and once one is hooked, keep him(or her) on the line in the water as its antics will attract others and then it can be one right ather the other action, just keep one on the hook and the rest will follow. if you troll for them, you better have some heavy gear as you'll also run the risk of hooking-up wth Billfish, Tuna and Wahoo and these fish can and will strip you clean and put a real hurting on you.

:shock:

:lol: yeah offshore ain't for the timid or faint-of heart :wink:

it can be real work, 2 to 3 hr trips off to the canyons then 2 to 3 hrs toget back to the dock :!: