16 posts in this topic

The wife and I are heading to Hatteras for a week on 10/5. I am NOT taking the boat, and want to fish the beach. Can anyone recommend general locations (not specific spots, i know how to read a beach), tackle, bait, tactics? Thanks, in advance, and yes, I'll take lots and lots of pictures and post 'em when I get back, or sooner if I can find a WAP.

Good Luck Bob! I'll be waiting to see the pics

Sorry I can't help you with any spots since i never been there.

Bohica,

I've been fishing down there for the past 16 years both a spring and fall trip. In fact, I'll be down there at the end of Oct. for a long weekend woth my family.

Here's what I wold recommend:

For Drum Fishing: First check in a Frank &Frans (Avon) for the Avon fishing report, if Fishing Ocean side out of AVon, ramp 34 just at the south end of town, holds a lot of great holes for Puppy Drum and large Drum, Blues, and the assortment a smaller stuff. drive the beach on low tide to view the structure and come back on the incoming 2-3 hours of high tide.

Buxton: Drum fishing is very good on the ocean behind the Motels! If you want to fight the crowds then go to the Point (access the beach from Ramp 44. follow the tracks to the right as you come out to the beach, not the first right as that will lead you to the southe end of the hook) You will not get lost but do be aware and ask the folks at Red Drum tackle about current beach closures etc. They will also have a reliable fishing report and the bait is good.

Drum, Blues, False Albacore, spot, King, others can be had at the song ocean area collectively caled the "South Beach" this is an area that starts from the insde south hook of the point and extends south al the way to Frisco. Nice for those windy days when its NE at 15+ knots and your getting sandblasted off the point.