19 posts in this topic

Hey guys...my names nate and im kinda new to surf fishing...ive grew up fishing the back bay and inlets in a boat and recently got into surf fishing on a trip to NC. I was hoping to get down sometime in march or april and maby getting together with someone on here and learning a few tricks to fishing around OC MD... just post back on here if anyone would be interested in helping me out a bit! thanks guys!

Hi Nate! I would love to help ya out. I'm always ready to go fishing and help someone learn how to fish (notice I say fish and not catch) :mrgreen:

I am thinking about getting a few of us (from this board) together sometime in April and do some serious Striper fishing on Assateague. I'll keep you informed. In the meantime, read, ask questions and get up to date on techniques, gear and baits.

yeah man that would be awsome...id love to go with ya...like i said...ive tried it down in NC and LOVED IT. What kind of equipment would i need? i have 2 50 size spinning reels with 200 yards of 50lbs braid...and one baitcaster with about the same. The one reel is on an eightfoot rod and im looking at getting another rod for my other spinning and casting reels. Are they big enough? im not looking at catching sharks or anything...i just want to catch some stripers and blues mosly.

I guess the best thing to do is bring what ya got. If you could take some pics of your gear and post em on here, that could help. When I first started, I bought some cheap junk that eventually failed at the most inconvenient time. So, you will need something that can stand up to not only salt water, but also sand. Call Bev at Harbor Tackle or stop by next time you're down and she and Terry will set ya up with what you need.

I'm sure there are guys on here who will give you advice :smartass: and you might find some decent stuff on E-bay or other places.