13 posts in this topic

I'm new to the site, great site. I have been fishing for sharks for about 10 years from the maryland and delaware beaches and have landed my fair share in the 4 to 6 foot range. Since reading lots about the guys in Texas using kayaks in the gulf has really made me interested in trying it but I wasn't sure what gear I needed. Then I found this site and people that are just as shark crazy as me, thanks I thought I was alone. So for my first question for is now what kind of yak do I get? My wife is going to love this because she doesn't think I have enough toys now.

While I haven't used my yak for sharking yet! I would suggest a sturdy sit on top anywhere from 10-14ft. Look for a place behind your seat to secure a load. I have used multiple kayaks for back country camping and have always found the sit on top to be more versitle and fun in the surf. I have a 14' Perception sit on top that has a front hatch and a open rear area for storage! It's great because the added length helps me cruise at a nice pace! My buddy has an 11' Cobra and has trouble keeping up! Although his is more agile in the surf. Will you use the Yak for anything else??? Take other uses into consideration.

If you haven't already, you might want to check out a post by chomper in KAYAKING TALK.(good read about kayaks) Good stuff :D Daveh

I guess what I'm hearing is that a shorter yak would be the way to go if I was just going to use it in the surf to take baits out?

Short yaks are quick in the surf, turn and paddle sharp and that's what you need in the breakers.

There are three types, Flat, round and V-hull. A combo between round and V is about the best for the surf.

If ya see anyone with a yak at the shore, ask if you can give it a try. It's not like they'll break easy.

If you run into me you are welcome to try mine. Mine and Coop's are about the same, Sam's is shorter and more agile.