jtindover Soon to be Member

Surf fishing for sharks

0 Not allowed!
    Newbie here! I am really interested in expanding my love for Surf Fishing to Sharks!!!!! I have read bits and pieces about Land SHarking and would like to get a Rig together for the Spring any suggestions on a good rod and reel combo for Young Family man on a budget??? Also is their any technique that works best?? I have heard of guys paddling out there lines by kayak and by kites??? I have a decent yak for this type of thing. Also I would be on the North Side of Indian River Inlet or Up at Cape Henlopen. Any thoughts on which area would be more productive???

2. # ADS
    Sponsor Circuit advertisement

Thanks

Sharkin

0 Not allowed!
    Welcome aboard JT. Stand by for some excellent sharking advice! You only have a few more months before the large toothy ones arrive. I'm getting ready to shut down for the night, but I'll let you in on all the goods in time! Coop and Steve are very knowledgeable about sharking also.
    Site Supporter

Help keep Atlantic Anglers up and running by becoming a Site Supporter!

Thanks

0 Not allowed!
    Aye, Charkin' it is you want Matey?

Read through the Extreme pages and you'll see some examples of gear and techniques.

Basically you want a stand-up boat rod, heavy one and the biggest reel you can afford with 50-60 pound test on it, some Malin #15 hard wire, coffee colored, 250# shock, 225# swivels, Mustad Sea Demon 12/0 J-Hooks.

And the sleeves to conect the lines together.

Far a reel, you really should use a trolling reel, like a Penn. My personal favorite is a Penn 115L 9/0 with 4500 feet of green Ande 60#.

If you can get hold of an old Penn 65 Long Beach, that would be great. They're less expensive due to their age but are nice, they hold a lot of line and that's the primary thing, LOTS of line!

You can order the terminal tackle from Bass Pro Shops.

Swivels: Item #38-400-066-01 2 packs

Sleeves: #38-424-236-00 2 packs